Shri_Vakkom_B_PurushothamanGovernor of Mizoram Shri Vakkom B Purushothaman

Name: Shri Vakkom B Purushothaman

Designation: Governor of Mizoram

Father’s Name : Shri Bhanu Panicker

Date of Birth : April 12, 1928

Address : Raj Bhavan, Aizawl, Mizoram – 796001.

Phone Number : 0389-2322262/2323200.

Fax No.: 0389-2323344.

Shri Vakkom B. Purushothaman, veteran Congress leader and Advocate, was born at Vakkom on April 12, 1928 as the son of Shri Bhanu Panicker and Smt. Bhavani.

Beginning his political life as an active worker of students Congress in 1946, he became a member of Vakkom Panchayat in 1953. Later, he served as President, DCC, Thiruvananthapuram, General Secretary, KPCC and Vice – President, KPCC. He has been a member of AICC for over 25 years.

Shri Vakkom Purushothaman became elected to the Kerala Legislative Assembly in 1970, 1977, 1980 and 1982 from Attingal Constituency. Holding the portfolio of Agriculture and Labour from 25-9-1971 to 25-3-1977 in the Ministry headed by Shri. C. Achutha Menon, Shri Vakkom Purushothaman was also the Minister for Health and Tourism from 25.1.1980 to 16.10.1981 in the Nayanar Ministry.

Shri Vakkom adorned the Chair of Speaker of the Assembly from 24.6.1982 to 28.12.1984.

Subsequently he served as a member of the Lok-Sabha during 1984-89 and 1989 – 91 .

He had served also as Chairman, Committee on Public Undertakings and Committee on Subordinate Legislation of Parliament besides being the Chairman of the Consultative Committee of Experts to the CIDP of Inter Parliamentary Union, Geneva for five years.

Shri Purushothaman has had a remarkable stint also as the Lt. Governor of Andaman and Nicobar Islands for three years from March 1993. He was the leader of the Indian delegation to the Global Conference on the Sustainable Development of Small Island Developing States held at Barbados in 1996.

In 2001, he was again elected to the 11th KLA from Attingal constituency, and served as Speaker for the Second time from 6.6.2001 to 4.9.2004. He has been holding the portfolio of Finance and Excise, since 5.9.2004, in the Ministry headed by Shri. Oommen Chandy.

Shri. Vakkom Purushothaman has also had the charge of Chief Minister in the absence of Shri. Oommen Chandy in connection with the meeting of World Economic Forum at Davos in January 2006, and for sometime therafter, and has acted as Leader of the House during the 14th Session of the XI KLA during February, 2006.

Dr. Lilly Purushothaman is his wife, and they have two sons and one daughter.

Took over as Governor of Mizoram from 2nd September 2011.

Former Governor/Lt Governor:

1. Name: Shri S.J.Das
Designation: Chief Commissioner
From: 21.01.1972 to 23.04.1972.

2. Name: Shri S.P.Mukherjee
Designation: Lt Governor
From: 24.04.1972 to 12.06.1974.

3. Name: Shri S.K.Chibber
Designation: Lt Governor
From: 13.06.1974 to 26.09.1977.

4. Name: Shri N.P.Mathur
Designation: Lt Governor
From: 27.09.1977 to 15.04.1981.

5. Name: Shri S.N.Kohli
Designation: Lt Governor
From: 16.04.1981 to 09.08.1983.

6. Name: Shri H.S.Dubey
Designation: Lt Governor
From: 10.08.1983 to 10.12.1986.

7. Name: Shri H.Saikia
Designation: Lt Governor
From: 11.12.1986 to 19.02.1987.

8. Name: Shri H.Saikia
Designation: Governor
From: 20.02.1987 to 30.4.1989.

9. Name: General KV Krishna Rao (additional charge)
Designation: Governor
From: 01.05.1989 to 20.07.1989.

10. Name: Capt W.A.Sangma
Designation: Governor
From: 21.07.1989 to 07.02.1990.

11. Name: Shri Swaraj Kaushal
Designation: Governor
From: 08.02.1990 to 09.02.1993.

12. Name: Shri P.R.Kyndiah
Designation: Governor
From: 10.02.1993 to 28.01.1998.

13. Name: Dr A.P.Mukherjee
Designation: Governor
From: 29.01.1998 to 01.05.1998.

14. Name: Shri A Padmanaban
Designation: Governor
From: 02.05.1998 to 30.11.2000.

15. Name: Shri Ved Prakash Marwah (additional charge)
Designation: Governor
From: 01.12.2000 to 17.05.2001.

16. Name: Amolak Rattan Kohli
Designation: Governor
From: 18.05.2001 to 24.07.2006.

17. Name: Lt. Gen (Retd) M. M. Lakhera
Designation: Governor
From: 25.07.2006 to 01.09.2011.

18. Name: Shri Vakkom B. Purushothaman
Designation: Governor
From: 02.09.2011 – incumbent.

No comments yet... Be the first to leave a reply!

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.