Organised by
Tata Institute of Social Sciences, Guwahati Campus
‘Local Democracy in North East India’
Venue: Conference Hall, Bluemoon Hotel
Uzanbazar, Guwahati, Assam
29th – 30th January, 2016.

DAY – 1


Date: 29th January, 2016 : Time: 10.00 a.m. – 11.00 a.m.
Welcome Address: Prof. Virginius Xaxa, Deputy Director, TISS, Guwahati Campus
Chairperson: Dr. Unnikrishnan P. V., Professor and Domain Expert, TISS
Keynote Address: Shri A. K. Goyal, Additional Secretary
Ministry of Panchayati Raj, Govt. of India

Tea Break: 11.00 – 11.15 a.m.
Time: 11.20 a.m. – 01.20 p.m.

Session I: MIZORAM

Chairperson: Dr. V.Sawmveli, Asst. Professor, TISS, Guwahati Campus.

Mr. M.H. Tiabi, Executive Member (PWD, I & P etc.) Mara Autonomous District
 Mr. Hmunhre, Former MDC & Vice Chairman Planning & Development, Lai Autonomous District Council
 Mr. Kali Kumar Tongchangya, Chief Executive Member (CEM) of Chakma Autonomous District Council (CADC)
 Dr. Jangkhongam Doungel, Professor, Dept. of Political Science, Mizoram University
 Dr. Joseph K. Lalfakzuala Assistant Professor, OKDISCD, Guwahati.

Lunch Break: 01.30 p.m. – 02.15 p.m.
Time: 02.20 p.m. – 03.45 p.m.


Chairperson: Prof. Virginius Xaxa

 Prof. L. S. Gassah, Dept. of Political Science, North-Eastern Hill University
 Mr. John F. Kharshiing, Chief of Grand Council of Chiefs of Meghalaya
 Dr. M.K. Shrivastava, Assistant Professor, NIRD-NERC, Guwahati
Tea Break 3.45 p.m. – 4.00p.m.
Time: 04.00 p.m. – 05.00 p.m.

Chairperson: Prof. Virginus Xaxa

 Mr. Amba Jamir, Policy Analyst, Development Advisor and Community Convener, Founder Secretary – Sustainable Development Forum, Nagaland
 Mr. K. Nokmarenba, Assistant Professor, Fazl Ali College, Mokokchung, Nagaland

Date: 30 January 2016
Time: 10.00a.m.- 11. 30 a.m.
Session IV : MANIPUR

Chairperson: Dr. Jagannath Ambagudia, Associate Professor, TISS, Guwahati Campus

 Prof. T.T. Haokip, Dept. of Political Science, North-Eastern Hill University
 Mr. D Julius Riamei, Advocate practicing in the High Court of Manipur at Imphal and Supreme Court of India at New Delhi.
 Dr. Thongkholal Haokip, Assistant Professor, Centre for the Study of Law and Governance, Jawaharlal Nehru University
 Dr. Joseph Riamei, Assistant Professor, TISS, Guwahati Campus.

Tea Break: 11. 30 a.m. – 1 .20 a.m.
Time: 11.30a.m. – 1.15 p.m.
Session V: TRIPURA

Chairperson: Dr. R.K. Debbarma, Assistant Professor, TISS-Guwahati Campus.

 Mr. Anthony Debbarma, Secretary BPHRO, Borok Peoples’ Human Rights Organisation
 Mr. Hebal Kalai, Headmaster, Khumpui Academy H.S.School Khumulwng,TTAADC, West Tripura
 Mr. Antiarbum Ranglong, Assistant Professor, Department of Political Science, MMD College, Sabroom, South Tripura
 Ms. Theresa Darlong, Assistant Professor, Women’s College, Agartala
Lunch Break 1.30p.m- 2.15 p.m.
Time: 2.20 p.m. – 4.00 p.m.

Session VI: Assam

Chairperson: Dr. Sanjay Barbora, Associate Professor, TISS, Guwahati Campus.

 Mr. Uttam Bathari, Dy. Director, ICHR, Guwahati, Assam
 Mr. Dharam Singh Teron, former MLA, Assam
 Dr. R.P Athparia, Senior Fellow, North East Social Research Centre, Guwahati
 Mr. Raju Narzary, Social Activist, NERSWN, Kokrajhar
 Mr. Angshuman Sarma, Researcher at North East Social Research Centre, Guwahati
 Mr. Bhaskar Kumar Kakati, Ph.d Scholar, TISS-Guwahati Campus


Vote of thanks: Ms. Navaneeta Deori, Assistant Professor, TISS, Guwahati Campus

Tea Break 4.00 p.m. -4.10 p.m.

Click here for Prog. Sch. Consultative Meeting 29-30 Jan 2016 (PDF File).

No comments yet... Be the first to leave a reply!

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.